Rich Howells

VIDEO: Motionless In White introduce The Misfits at AP Music Awards

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Introduced as “Scranton, Pennsylvania’s own Motionless In White,” frontman Chris Motionless and bassist Devin “Ghost” Sola represented the Electric City at the inaugural Gibson Brands Alternative Press Music Awards last night, held at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum in Cleveland, Ohio. They announced a live performance of the current incarnation of The Misfits, with Chris crediting the band for getting him in trouble at the age of 13 for wearing makeup.

The horror punk act played “Devil’s Rain” and “Where Eagles Dare” before being joined by Black Veil Brides’ Andy Biersack on “Dig Up Her Bones,” “Die, Die My Darling,” and “We Are 138.”

Sola was up for the Best Bassist award, determined by fans who voted online, but lost to Jaime Preciado of Pierce the Veil.

Hosted by Blink-182’s Mark Hoppus and broadcast live by AXS TV, the event drew 6,000 attendees and trended worldwide on Twitter for nearly five hours, according to a press release. Aerosmith’s Joe Perry made a surprise appearance to present the Guitar Legend award to Slash (who first appeared on Alternative Press’ cover in 1988).

Highlights of the night included a salute to Frank Sinatra led by Brendon Urie of Panic! at the Disco with Cleveland’s over-100-member Contemporary Youth Orchestra, Falling In Reverse with Coolio and Tyler Carter of Issues performing “Gangsta’s Paradise,” Asking Alexandria and Korn’s Jonathan Davis performing Duran Duran’s “Hungry Like the Wolf,” and Joan Jett & The Blackhearts performing “Bad Reputation” with Billy Crooked of the Vacancies, “Soulmates to Strangers” with Against Me!’s Laura Jane Grace, and a cover of the Rolling Stones’ “Star Star” (“Starfucker”) with Slash.

In addition, other performances included Fall Out Boy playing “The Phoenix” with the Contemporary Youth Orchestra, Body Count featuring Ice-T performing “Talk Shit = Get Shot” and “There Goes the Neighborhood,” Sleeping With Sirens performing “Alone” with Machine Gun Kelly, Kelly and the Contemporary Youth Orchestra performing “See My Tears,” Twenty One Pilots with Michael Bohn of Issues and the Contemporary Youth Orchestra performing “Car Radio,” and A Day to Remember performing “City of Ocala” with Neck Deep.

All Time Low included Yellowcard, New Found Glory, and Vic Fuentes of Pierce the Veil in an all-star medley, including a performance of Song of the Year winner “A Love Like War.”

All performances and award presentations can be viewed at

2014 APMA winners:

Best Vocalist presented by Victory Records: Brendon Urie, Panic! at the Disco
Best Live Band presented by Vans Warped Tour: Pierce the Veil
Breakthrough Band presented by Beats Music: Crown the Empire
Best Bassist presented by Dyin 2 Live: Jaime Preciado, Pierce the Veil
Best International Band presented by Zepeda Brothers Productions: Bring Me the Horizon
Artist Philanthropic Award presented by Sub City/Take Action: All Time Low
Best Guitarist presented by Gibson: Phil Manansala, Of Mice & Men
Vanguard Award presented by AXS TV: Billy Corgan
Best Drummer presented by DW Drums: Mike Fuentes, Pierce the Veil
Icon Award presented by Blackstar Amplification: Joan Jett
Most Dedicated Fans presented by Fearless Records: Black Veil Brides
Guitar Legend Award presented by the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame: Slash
Song of the Year presented by Epitaph Records: All Time Low featuring Vic Fuentes of Pierce the Veil, “A Love Like War”
Album of the Year presented by Journeys: Bring Me the Horizon, “Sempiternal”
Artist of the Year presented by Monster Energy: Fall Out Boy