Rich Howells

EXCLUSIVE: Electric City Music Conference announces 26 acts, 5 panelists, and presenting sponsor

EXCLUSIVE: Electric City Music Conference announces 26 acts, 5 panelists, and presenting sponsor
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

From a press release:

The Electric City Music Conference has just announced a host of new information on its 2016 event in Scranton.

Tunefly, a mobile app that allows users to record and post original music, write reviews of the music they want to share, and keep followers updated through journal entries, has been named the presenting sponsor for the 2016 Electric City Music Conference.

“We’re extremely excited to partner with Tunefly, as we believe this application to be a valuable resource for all musicians,” said ECMC co-founder Joe Caviston.

“It’s also been developed locally in Northeastern Pennsylvania. All in all, it seems like a match made in heaven,” added Ken Norton, who is also a co-founder of the event.

Tunefly is the latest sponsor to show support for the event, joining the likes of NEPA Scene, 97.9X, Word Is Bond Management, Prospect Music Group, FizzKicks, and 1120 Creative.

Former member of Breaking Benjamin, Lifer, and Stardog Champion and current solo artist Aaron Fink will make his debut appearance at the Electric City Music Conference, and Kingston indie rock standouts Tired Army will also play the festival for the first time. On the regional level, Matt Wheeler & Vintage Heart from Lancaster and Black Tie Brass from New York City have been added to the event.

The following acts have also been added to the 2016 ECMC lineup: The Pee Pees, Andrew Cutillo, CrimZn, Talia & Gov L (Vicious Fam), Reject Royalty, Ten Stories, Still Hand String Band, North Winds, The Barn Cats, Strength in Allies, Fiddy Shades, Chris Hludzik, Shock Value, Rob Palmitessa, Silhouette Lies, James Barrett, Dustin Douglas & The Electric Gentlemen, I Trust you to Kill Me, The Tisburys, Heart Out, Doghouse Charlie, and Spruce Springsteen.

In addition, the ECMC announced last week that national recording artist Apache Chief would be performing.

A host of music industry professionals have been announced as panelists for the conference portion of the event: Bret Alexander (singer/songwriter/producer), Freddie Fabbri (Entercom), Erick Droegmoeller (Word Is Bond Management), Jim Thorpe (Dewey Beach Music Conference/DVT Entertainment), and Vince Volz (Liberty Music Festival/DVT Entertainment).

Alexander was a member of rock legends The Badlees and the recipient of the 2015 Steamtown Music Awards Lifetime Achievement Award. Fabbri is a local radio icon who was instrumental in the early success of Breaking Benjamin.

Droegmoeller signed and released Four Year Strong’s debut album “It’s Our Time” and I Call Fives’ “First Things First” on his record label Open Your Eyes; he later managed both acts. He was an agent at Philadelphia’s FATA Booking Agency, booking The Dangerous Summer, I Call Fives, Mae, Handguns, The Story So Far, and many more bands.

Stay tuned for more news from the Electric City Music Conference via NEPA Scene, the exclusive media sponsor of this year’s event.