NEPA Scene Staff

2016 Steamtown Music Award nominees announced on July 3 at Thirst T’s in Olyphant

2016 Steamtown Music Award nominees announced on July 3 at Thirst T’s in Olyphant
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Electric City Music Conference co-producers Joe Caviston and Kenneth Norton announced the nominees for the 2016 Steamtown Music Awards and the conference’s live music lineups at all the participating venues to a packed house at Thirst T’s Bar & Grill in Olyphant on Sunday, July 3.

Highlighted by acoustic performances by Skip Monday (with a guest appearance by cellist Dan King of A Fire With Friends) and Jung Bergo, the announcement included an early award presentation of The Future of the Scene Award, a brand new award this year for bands under the age of 21. The Tellerz (who recently won Season 3 of NEPA Scene’s Got Talent), Static in the Attic, Shock Value, and Ten Stories all received a certificate recognizing that they “are making a significant impact on the local music scene.” Several other new categories were added this year as well.

NEPA Scene announced last month that the 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Wilkes-Barre reggae musician George Wesley.

The Electric City Music Conference, which will feature a multi-venue music festival, conferences, and panels with music industry professionals, will kick off with the Steamtown Music Awards on Thursday, Sept. 15 at The V-Spot (906 Providence Rd., Scranton) and run through Saturday, Sept. 17. Multiple venues will have outdoor stages this year, and the AfA Gallery (514 Lackawanna Ave., Scranton) will feature an all-ages concert on Friday night and will again play host to the conference’s panels on Saturday afternoon.

A majority of the award winners will be chosen by a panel of judges selected by the ECMC, though some will be decided by the public voting online. Stay tuned to NEPA Scene for voting details.

And the 2016 Steamtown Music Award nominees are…

Best New Artist
A Season Underground
Adam Bailey
Animal Planit
Black Hole Heart
The ClamStompers
James Barrett
North Winds
Riley Loftus
Sir Polo
Flatland Ruckus
Elephants Dancing

People’s Choice Award
Facing the Giants
The Mix
Exxxit Six
Graces Downfall
Strawberry Jam
Dance Hall Devils
The Wannabees
Gary Goblins
Group Du Jour Entertainment
Fiddy Shades
Three Imaginary Boys

Blues Act of the Year
Clarence Spady
Dustin Douglas & The Electric Gentlemen
Matt Bennick & The Soul Shakers
Phyllis Hopkins Trio
Miner Blues
JP Williams Blues Band

Jam/Raggae Act of the Year
Elephants Dancing
Mountain Sky Orchestra
Still Hand String Band
The Russello Project

Country Act of the Year
Flatland Ruckus
Iron Cowboy
Hell Yo
RJ Scouton Band
Tommy Guns Band
Farmers Daughter

Jazz Act of the Year
The Bog Swing Group
Alex Marino
Mobile Meth Lab Explosion
Indigo Moon Brass Band
The Hydration Concept
Rogue Chimp

DJ of the Year
DJ Hersh
DJ Evil Bee
Super DJ Rich Steele
DJ Merc of Mercy Gang
Concious Pilot

Metal Act of the Year
Behind the Grey
I Trust You to Kill Me
Beyond Fallen

Duo of the Year
The ClamStompers
Asialena and Bryan Banks
Eddie Appnel and Bret Alexander
Crossroads Duo
Strawberry Jam Duo
Alicia Lynn and Jody Busch

Pop/Top 40 Act of the Year
Skip Monday
Black Tie Stereo
Light Weight
The Chatter

Electronic Act of the Year
Gary Goblins
Newpy Hundo

Hardcore/Punk Act of the Year
Clever Clever
Heart Out
Silhoutee Lies
Black Hole Heart
Dreamers, Like Us

Folk/American Act of the Year
The ClamStompers
Coal Town Rounders
Dishonest Fiddlers
Zayre Mountain
Tony Halchak

Rock/Alt Rock Act of the Year
Destination West
Death Valley Dreams
Down to Six
The Curse of Sorrow
One Red X

Hip Hop Act of the Year
Drew Breeze
Doc Nuece

Tribute/Cover Act of the Year
Halfway to Hell – AC/DC Tribute
Idol Kings – Journey Tribute
Lost Dogs – Pearl Jam Tribute
Stand Bac – Fleetwood Mac Tribute
Tom Sadge – Neil Diamond Tribute

Indie Rock Act of the Year
Family Animals
Jung Bergo
Pity Party
Tired Army
Old Charades

Male Vocalist of the Year
Adam Bailey
Angelo Marruzelli – LondonForce
Jeremy Burke – Jung Bergo
Ed Randazzo
Sean Flynn – Old Charades
Robb Brown

Guitarist of the Year
Allen “Robot” Van Wert
Dustin Douglas
Matt Bennick
Charles Russello
Phyllis Hopkins
Butch Frable

Female Vocalist of the Year
Dani-elle Kleha
Jami Kali – Mock Sun
Katie Kelly – ClamStompers/Umbriel
Kaylin Karr – Skip Monday
Tiffany Mongiello
Cierra Cellerari – Flaxy Morgan

Bassist of the Year
Bill Coleman
Grant Williams
Matt Mang – No Memories
Mike Joyce
Wayne Kopacz
Will Clauss – Nowhere Slow

Drummer of the Year
Bryan Banks
Jordan Lupini
Chris Langan
Jerry Bruno
Sharon O’Connell
Bryan Brophy

Artist of the Year
Jung Bergo
Skip Monday
Death Valley Dreams
Mountain Sky Orchestra
Esta Coda

Video of the Year
Jenn Johnson – “Home”
Drew Breeze – “Tell God”
The ClamStompers – “Dwayne”
Mercy Gang – “Underground”
Family Animals – “A World Within a World”
Nate Williams – “Face in the Crowd”

Song of the Year
“The Window” – James Barrett
“Bye Bye Bye” – Dani-elle
“Dwayne” – the ClamStompers
“Panic Static” – Elephants Dancing
“Brother’s Keeper” – Mercy Gang
“She Had Nothing to Say” – Old Charades

Album of the Year
“Dustin Douglas & The Electric Gentlemen” – Dustin Douglas & The Electric Gentlemen
“Heavy Feathers” – Aaron Fink
“If You Don’t Bring Me Joy (Be on Your Way)” – Ed Randazzo
“Even Giants Despair” – Tony Halchak
“Through the Grip of Tyrants” – Behind the Grey
“Everything New Is Old Again” – Jung Bergo

Recording Studio of the Year
Saturation Acres
Holland Sound Studios
JL Studios
SI Studios
Soundmine Recording Studio
The Stude

Music Publication of the Year
NEPA Scene
Highway 81 Revisted
Electric City
The Weekender
Indie Authority

Music Journalist of the Year
Rich Howells
Alan K. Stout
Matt Mattei
Dylan Wright
Cory Wolff
Bill Thomas

Music Photographer of the Year
Brittany Boote
Jesse Faatz
Keith Perks
Tom Bonomo
Jason Riedmiller
Ken Jones

Local Radio Station of the Year
Fuzz 92.1
98.5 KRZ
105 The River
88.5 Kings
91.7 VMFM

Local DJ of the Year
Alan K. Stout – The Mountain
Crisco and Tori – 97.9x
Ferg – Fuzz
Freddie Fabbri – WILK
Mike Duffy – Fuzz
Lyssa and Rocky – 98.5 KRS

Live Music Venue of the Year
The Keys
The Other Side
Thirst T’s Bar & Grill
Mountain Sky
The V-Spot
River Street Jazz Cafe
Sherman Theater
Bartolai Winery

Music Store of the Year
Northeast Music Center
Main Street Music
Guitar Center at Montage
Magdon Music
Music Go Round
The Music Scene