Keith Perks

PHOTOS: 2016 Steamtown Music Awards ceremony in Scranton (with winners list), 09/15/16

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

A long line wrapped around the building an hour before the third annual Steamtown Music Awards ceremony kicked off on Thursday, Sept. 15 as NEPA Scene interviewed many of the hundreds of nominated local musicians and industry professionals on the red carpet leading into The V-Spot in Scranton.

With DJ Hersh spinning tracks throughout the evening, 500 people packed into the bar and hung out outside as the awards, which were flasks engraved with the SMAs logo this year, were announced between live performances by Umbriel, Still Hand String Band, Dani-elle, Mercy Gang, Skip Monday, Flatland Ruckus, A Fire With Friends, and the debut of a new band called The Boneflowers. The night also featured a tribute to Lifetime Achievement Award winner George Wesley, who passed away on July 19, and the world premiere of the DJ Hersh remix of Ed Randazzo’s “Be My Husband,” which will raise money for Pulse of Orlando, a nonprofit that benefits the victims and families of the Orlando nightclub shooting on June 12, when it is released for sale. Even costumed members of the Reaper’s Revenge haunted attraction showed up in a hearse to join the party and announce an award.

Organized by Joe Caviston and Kenneth Norton as part of the three-day Electric City Music Conference, the night not only served as an award ceremony, but as a memorable way to bring a large portion of the Northeastern Pennsylvania music community together under one roof to celebrate the diversity and accomplishments of the local scene.

Look for more exclusive coverage of the entire conference throughout the week on NEPA Scene.

2016 Steamtown Music Awards winners:

Lifetime Achievement Award: George Wesley
Blues Act of the Year: JP Williams Blues Band
Jam/Reggae Act of the Year: Mountain Sky Orchestra
Country Act of the Year: Tommy Guns Band
Jazz Act of the Year: Mobile Meth Lab Explosion
DJ of the Year: DJ Merc of Mercy Gang
Metal Act of the Year: Toothless
Duo of the Year: Eddie Appnel and Bret Alexander
Pop/Top 40 Act of the Year: Black Tie Stereo
Electronic Act of the Year: Kenton
Hardcore/Punk Act of the Year: Clever Clever
Folk/Americana Act of the Year: Zayre Mountain
Rock/Alt Rock Act of the Year: Death Valley Dreams
Hip-Hop Act of the Year: Drew Breeze
Tribute/Cover Act of the Year: Idol Kings (Journey and John Mellencamp tribute)
Indie Rock Act of the Year: Jung Bergo
Male Vocalist of the Year: Robb Brown
Guitarist of the Year: Dustin Douglas
Female Vocalist of the Year: Katie Kelly
Bassist of the Year: Matt Mang
Drummer of the Year: Jerry Bruno
Artist of the Year: Skip Monday
Video of the Year: “Face in the Crowd” by Nate Williams
Song of the Year: “Panic Static” by Elephants Dancing and “She Had Nothing to Say” by Old Charades
Album of the Year: “Through the Grip of Tyrants” by Behind the Grey
Best New Artist: Riley Loftus
Recording Studio of the Year: Holland Sound
Music Publication of the Year: NEPA Scene
Music Journalist of the Year: Dylan Wright
Music Photographer of the Year: Keith Perks
Local Radio Station of the Year: Fuzz 92.1
Local Radio DJ of the Year: Lissa and Rocky
Live Music Venue of the Year: Mountain Sky Orchestra
Music Store of the Year: Northeast Music Center
NEPA Scene Readers’ Choice Award: Group Du Jour Entertainment
Weekender Artist of the Year Award: Send Request and James Barrett