NEPA Scene Staff

Underground Saints and The Five Percent reunite for holiday concert at Kirby Center in Wilkes-Barre on Dec. 30

Underground Saints and The Five Percent reunite for holiday concert at Kirby Center in Wilkes-Barre on Dec. 30
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

From a press release:

Music blog Highway 81 Revisited will present “The Holiday Reunion Concert” as part of the Live from the Chandelier Lobby series at the F.M. Kirby Center in Wilkes-Barre on Friday, Dec. 30 at 7 p.m. The show will be a holiday homecoming for some local bands of past and present, featuring the reunions of Underground Saints and The Five Percent along with Bret Alexander, Aaron Fink & the Fury, Death Valley Dreams, and the Tony Halchak Band.

Tickets, which are $12 in advance or $15 the day of the show, plus fees, are on sale now and available at the Kirby Center box office (71 Public Square, Wilkes-Barre), online at, and by phone at 570-826-1100.

Since forming in 2005, The Five Percent have built a solid fan base across the United States. The band has shared the stage with national acts like Augustana, Five for Fighting, Ryan Cabrera, The Gin Blossoms, and many more.

Beyond the local circuit, Underground Saints – consisting of John Smith, Pat Flynn, Mark Keisinger, and AJ Jump – opened for Kings of Leon when they played the Toyota Pavilion at Montage Mountain in 2010. That same year, they released an album entitled “Broken Machines.” This will mark the group’s first live show in nearly five years.

Local singer/songwriter Bret Alexander is best known for his role as the principle songwriter/guitarist/multi-instrumentalist for The Badlees. The band’s self-produced album, “River Songs,” yielded two hit singles, “Fear of Falling” and “Angeline Is Coming Home,” in 1996. Today, Alexander continues to perform solo and with his band, Gentleman East, as well as producing, writing, and performing with several other independent artists. In 2015, he was the recipient of the “Lifetime Achievement Award” from the Electric City Music Conference.

Aaron Fink is a guitarist and singer/songwriter best known for his work with Breaking Benjamin, although he also boasts ties with bands such as Lifer, The Badlees, and Stardog Champion. Fink has released two solo albums, “Saint Sylvania” and “Heavy Feathers.” His third solo record, “Galaxies,” is set to be released January 2017.

Death Valley Dreams is an indie rock/new wave/alternative outfit featuring Nick Coyle (formerly of Lifer and The Drama Club), Jon Nova, Ryan Dougherty, and Matt Rutkoski. On June 20, Death Valley Dreams released its debut 11-song LP titled “Lust in the Modern World.”

Tony Halchak is an indie folk artist, formerly of the bands Barefoot, Rippletree Effect, and Evernight. He has two solo full-length albums, “Collecting” and “Even Giants Despair.”

The Kirby Center’s Live from the Chandelier Lobby concert series is presented by City Market & Café.