Rich Howells

EXCLUSIVE: 2017 Steamtown Music Award winners announced at V-Spot in Scranton

EXCLUSIVE: 2017 Steamtown Music Award winners announced at V-Spot in Scranton
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

The fourth annual Electric City Music Conference kicked off on Thursday, Sept. 14 with the Steamtown Music Awards at The V-Spot in Scranton, a huge party filled with local musicians of all genres and generations that spilled out into the street and raged long into the night.

With red carpet interviews by NEPA Scene and music by DJ Hersh spinning all night, the SMAs also featured live performances by Luna Soltera, Static in the Attic, Permanence, Big Country, Lucas Hex, Behind the Grey acoustic, Elephants Dancing, and a tribute to Jane Train by R.J. Scouton and Behind the Grey featuring Zhach Kelsch and members of LondonForce. Celebrating their 20th anniversary this year, Nanticoke hardcore band Strength for a Reason accepted the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Exclusive photos from the Steamtown Music Awards and the entire three-day Electric City Music Conference are forthcoming but, for now, here is the full list of winners announced on Thursday night.

2017 Steamtown Music Awards winners

Lifetime Achievement Award: Strength for a Reason

Best New Artist: WethePeople

Acoustic Solo Act of the Year: Jackson Vee

Blues Act of the Year: Teddy Young

Country Act of the Year: R.J. Scouton

DJ of the Year: DJ Hersh

Duo of the Year: Tiffany Mongiello and Johnny D

Electronic Act of the Year: Penpal

Folk/Americana Act of the Year: Tony Halchak

Hip-Hop Act of the Year: Crimzn

Indie Rock Act of the Year: Rosary Guild

Jam/Reggae/Funk Act of the Year: Elephants Dancing

Jazz Act of the Year: Alex Marino

Metal Act of the Year: The Hill You Die On

Pop/Top 40 Act of the Year: LondonForce

Punk/Hardcore Act of the Year: Pave the Way

Rock/Alternative Rock Act of the Year: Aaron Fink and the Fury

Tribute/Cover Act of the Year: Grayson Drive

Male Vocalist of the Year: Rick Gillette

Female Vocalist of the Year: Shannon Walling

Guitarist of the Year: John Canjar

Bassist of the Year: Abby Vail

Drummer of the Year: Zhach Kelsch

Auxiliary Musician of the Year: Steve Werner – Handpan

Video of the Year: Grant Williams“Alpha Centauri”

Song of the Year: University Drive“Only in the Way”

Album of the Year: Jung Bergo“Everything New Is Old Again”

People’s Choice Award: Blind Choice

Recording Studio of the Year: After Image Studios

Music Publication/Blog of the Year: NEPA Scene

Music Journalist of the Year: Rich Howells, editor of NEPA Scene

Photographer of the Year: Jesse Faatz

Local Radio Station of the Year: 97.9X

Local Radio Personality of the Year: Mike Duffy of 97.9X

Podcast of the Year: NEPA Scene Podcast

Live Streamer of the Year: Alex O’Brien

Fan of the Year: Joe Foley

Listen to ECMC founders Joe Caviston and Kenneth Norton talk about the conference and the awards in depth in Episode 26 of the NEPA Scene Podcast:

See NEPA Scene’s SMAs photos and the list of 2016 winners here. See our photos from the entire 2016 conference here and stream or download last year’s ECMC panel discussions as free podcasts here.