Rich Howells

PHOTOS: 2018 Steamtown Music Awards ceremony in Scranton (with winners list), 09/13/18

PHOTOS: 2018 Steamtown Music Awards ceremony in Scranton (with winners list), 09/13/18
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

The fifth annual Electric City Music Conference began on Thursday, Sept. 13 with the biggest turnout for the Steamtown Music Awards yet, packing The V-Spot in Scranton and flooding its entire front parking lot with local musicians and their supporters that felt like both a family reunion and a massive party for music lovers of all kinds.

With red carpet interviews by NEPA Scene, video by Ionic Development, and music by DJ Hersh spinning all night, the SMAs featured local celebrity presenters giving out awards in 37 different categories and plenty of live performances, including Half Dollar and The Boastfuls outside under the tent and AlphaAudio; Dreamers, Like Us; University Drive; Nowhere Slow; Black Tie Stereo; Graces Downfall; The Charming Beards; Lucas Hex; and The Russello Project inside on the main stage.

2018 Steamtown Music Awards winners

Best New Artist: Tied vote – Always Undecided (online vote) and The Boastfuls (committee vote)

Acoustic/Solo Artist of the Year: Chris Shrive

Blues Act of the Year: Dustin Douglas and the Electric Gentlemen

Country Act of the Year: The Wells River Band

DJ of the Year: DJ Quoth

Duo of the Year: The Frost

Electronic Act of the Year: The Gary Goblins

Folk/Americana Act of the Year: American Buffalo Ghost

Hip-Hop Act of the Year: KP

Indie Rock Act of the Year: University Drive

Jam/Funk Act of the Year: Half Dollar

Jazz/Classical/Big Band Act of the Year: Tyler Dempsey Electric Trio

Metal Act of the Year: Traverse the Abyss

Pop/Top 40 Act of the Year: Light Weight

Punk/Hardcore Act of the Year: Stay Loud

Rock/Alternative Act of the Year: Three Imaginary Boys

Tribute/Cover Act of the Year: Project 90’s

Male Vocalist of the Year: Stephen Murphy

Female Vocalist of the Year: Jami Kali

Guitarist of the Year: Michael “Duds” McDonald

Bassist of the Year: Lisa Dieterrich

Drummer of the Year: Andrew Merkle

Auxiliary Musician of the Year: Edward “Eddie the Harp” Czarkowski – harmonica

Album of the Year: Dustin Douglas and the Electric Gentlemen – “Break It Down”

Song of the Year: Alma Mater – “Speechless”

Recording Studio of the Year: SI Studios

Publication/Blog of the Year: NEPA Scene

Music Journalist of the Year: Rich Howells

Photographer of the Year: Brittany Boote

Radio Station of the Year: Alt 92.1

Podcast/Program of the Year: Podder than Hell

Radio Personality of the Year: Hoover

Virtual Performer of the Year: Mark Yanish

Live Performer of the Year: Black Tie Stereo

Artist of the Year: Eye on Attraction

Steward of the Scene Award: Karl Hall

Lifetime Achievement Awards: Joseph “Wiggy” Wegleski and The Glass Prism

See NEPA Scene’s photos from the 2018 ECMC announcement party here. Listen to Caviston and Norton talk about the conference and the awards in depth in Episode 75 of the NEPA Scene Podcast:

Photos by Keith Perks/1120 Studios/NEPA Scene