NEPA Scene Staff

Take ‘The Ride’ with Pa. hard rock trio Small Town Titans and their new album of heavy hitters

Take ‘The Ride’ with Pa. hard rock trio Small Town Titans and their new album of heavy hitters
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

From a press release:

Small Town Titans put the power in power trio, making a strong name for themselves across Pennsylvania and beyond with their heavy rock ‘n’ roll takes on well-known songs in addition to their killer live shows.

Today, the band is hitting the scene with a new full-length album of their own material called “The Ride” on AntiFragile Music, featuring hard-rocking singles like “The Man,” “Rufflin’ Feathers,” “Universal Limits,” “The Ride,” and “Junkie for You (Hey Mama),” along with a cover of Marcy Playground’s 1997 hit “Sex and Candy.”

Based in York, Pennsylvania, Small Town Titans have been seen in the Northeast region of the state at places like The V-Spot and Stage West in Scranton, the F.M. Kirby Center in Wilkes-Barre, Thirst T’s Bar & Grill in Olyphant, and the Electric City Music Conference, leaving a lasting impression wherever they perform.

After a few delays due to COVID-19, they will bring that energy to a live stream release party on Saturday, Feb. 6, 2021 where they will play the record in its entirety for the first time ever with professional audio, lights, multiple camera angles, and more. This is not a pre-recorded video, so the guys will be reading fan comments from the stage. Tickets, which start at $10, are on sale now at Veeps. Limited edition ticket packages are also available that include CDs, exclusive merch, and a Zoom afterparty.

Phil Freeman (vocals/bass), Ben Guiles (guitar), and Jonny Ross (drums) love to constantly create and play live. Gone is the notion that a rock band should only release 10 songs at a time every two years. In a world where music fans crave new content constantly, STT aims to deliver their brand of art all of the time, drawing inspiration from a newer wave of rock bands such as Highly Suspect and Royal Blood, as well as rock legends like Foo Fighters, Audioslave, and Deep Purple. Taking matters into their own hands, the group can create and release songs, podcasts, live online concerts, and more with no rules. In a social media-driven world, they know releasing consistent quality content is as important as playing great live shows.

In November of 2018, the band’s cover of the Christmas song “You’re a Mean One, Mr. Grinch” went viral in a matter of days, charting on various Billboard charts, including Holiday Digital Song Sales, Rock Digital Song Sales, Emerging Artists, and reaching No. 5 on the Next Big Sound chart. The song also hit No. 2 on the iTunes Rock charts, only being surpassed by Queen’s “Bohemian Rhapsody,” and has 4.3 million views on YouTube.

STT quickly found themselves achieving success, all on their own terms. As a continued unsigned act, all three members have risen to the occasion to continue making music the way they want to, free from having to follow traditional music industry rules. By changing their mindset and focus towards creating content like many successful YouTubers, they made fans the old fashioned way – by word of mouth.

With no manager, label, or radio support, the Small Town Titans have prospered simply by never forgetting one thing – their fans, both new and old. Instead of trying to make a million fans, STT is focusing on the fans they already have and the ones they continue to make. With a love for playing live, a STT show has evolved into more than a concert. It’s an event, with a setlist that’s decided right before the show and plenty of stage banter in between songs. The band hits the stage hard and delivers an energy-driven show using guitars, drums, and their voices – nothing more, nothing less. This approach has led to them sharing the stage with acts such as Highly Suspect, Papa Roach, Black Stone Cherry, Pop Evil, Adelitas Way, and more.

By focusing on their engagement on social media and managing themselves, they are growing like never before as a business and a brand. STT is actively forming a team of like-minded individuals in the current music business who are just as driven and passionate as they are, rather than waiting to be discovered. Follow them on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube to join them on this wild ride.

“The Ride” tracklist:

1. Rufflin’ Feathers
2. The Man
3. Behind the Moon
4. Let Me Breathe
5. Universal Limits
6. 9 to 5
7. Sex and Candy (Marcy Playground cover)
8. When It All Comes Down
9. Junkie for You (Hey Mama)
10. The Ride