NEPA Scene Staff

Scranton metal band Motionless In White puts a ‘Cyberhex’ on upcoming album, ‘Scoring the End of the World’

Scranton metal band Motionless In White puts a ‘Cyberhex’ on upcoming album, ‘Scoring the End of the World’
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

From a press release:

Today, Scranton metal band Motionless In White announced their anxiously awaited new full-length album, “Scoring the End of the World,” set for release on Friday, June 10 via Roadrunner Records, the home of Slipknot, Korn, Coheed and Cambria, and other major artists.

It is now available to pre-save on all major streaming platforms, with exclusive merch bundles offered in their official store.

To herald its arrival, the quintet has also shared the first single, “Cyberhex,” which is joined by an official music video directed by the band’s guitarist Ricky Olson and Logan Beaver.

Frontman Chris “Motionless” Cerulli elaborated on the ambitious new project, stating, “‘Cyberhex’ is my love letter to you, our fans, for everything you have done for me over the course of some of the most mentally taxing few years I’ve had to go through. At times where I felt like my world was ending, as well as the world around us, it was always in my mind that I was able to turn to the special relationship we have created together for help, and I cannot thank you enough for that. Outside of my own personal experiences, it has been equally as fulfilling to me to see that in the face of tireless forces that continue to try and perpetuate hatred and negativity towards so many of us coexisting on this planet, we have all stood together to resist and fight back knowing that love and compassion will always prevail. We are the resistance. We are Cyberhex. I love you. Thank you.”

On “Cyberhex,” an ominous synth melody snaps like the click of a trigger into a pummeling glitchy guitar riff as Cerulli warns, “There’s no tomorrow.” His apocalyptic verses give way to a robotic sample, “Initiate Cyberhex,” before the cataclysmically catchy chorus takes hold. Strings pierce the militaristic bridge and screams cut through the chaos. In what may be their most cinematic visual yet, the story of the song comes to life on-screen under Olson’s deft direction.

“Scoring the End of the World” fully encompasses the expanse of the band’s dynamic, deep, and dark vision and marks their first full-length body of work in three years since 2019’s “Disguise.” The latter has quietly made a major impact on heavy rock music and culture. The single “Another Life” stands out as their most-streamed song ever, with over 23 million YouTube views on the music video. The record claimed a spot on Loudwire’s “50 Best Metal Albums of 2019,” plus it ignited the creative renaissance that would set the stage for this new statement-making album.

Later this month, Motionless In White will kick off a massive triple co-headlining North American run. The Trinity of Terror Tour will feature the unholy triumvirate of MIW with Black Veil Brides and Ice Nine Kills, making this the first time ever that fans get to see all of them on the same stage each night. The coast-to-coast outing, which will see the three acts alternating closing sets each night, is set to begin on March 17 in Mesa, Arizona and make stops in Los Angeles, Chicago, Salt Lake City, Pittsburgh, Buffalo, Orlando, and more before wrapping up with a performance at Norfolk, Virginia’s Chartway Arena on April 27. Hometown area fans can catch them at The Fillmore (29 E. Allen St., Philadelphia) on Saturday, April 16, and later this year they are joining the massive lineup of the When We Were Young festival in Las Vegas.

Last year, the quintet dropped the standalone single “Timebomb.” It has gathered 5.7 million Spotify streams and 1.6 million YouTube views on the music video. Earning critical acclaim, Loudwire hailed it as “dark but uplifting – and heavy” while Kerrang urged listeners to “prepare your neck.”

In 2006, Motionless In White materialized out of Scranton with an inimitable conjuration of sharp metallic rock, nocturnal industrial, magnetic melodies, and larger-than-life visual imagery. Chris Motionless (vocals), Ricky Olson (guitar), Ryan Sitkowski (guitar), Vinny Mauro (drums), and Justin Morrow (bass) quietly clawed their way to the forefront of hard rock, gathering nearly half-a-billion cumulative streams and views to date.

After the success of “Creatures” (2010) and “Infamous” (2012), “Reincarnate” (2014) sunk its teeth into the Top 10 of the Billboard Top 200, bowing at No. 9 and capturing No. 1 on the Top Rock Albums chart. Both their Roadrunner debut “Graveyard Shift” (2017) and follow-up “Disguise” (2019) cracked the Top 5 of the Top Hard Rock Albums and Top Rock Albums charts. The latter yielded the band’s biggest hit to date, “Another Life,” followed by “Brand New Numb” and “Disguise.”

Along the way, they sold out headlining tours and supported everyone from Slipknot and Korn to fellow Northeastern Pennsylvania natives Breaking Benjamin. Not to mention that they have collaborated with Jonathan Davis of Korn, Maria Brink of In This Moment, Dani Filth of Cradle of Filth, Tim Sköld of KMFDM, Caleb Shomo of Beartooth, and more.

The five-piece kept busy throughout 2020 with the “Deadstream” performance of “Creatures” for its decade anniversary, a cover of The Killers’ “Somebody Told Me,” and the standalone single “Creatures X: To the Grave.” They returned to the studio and the road once again in 2021 as they perfected the poetically pummeling sound they patented, as demonstrated on their second career-spanning “Deadstream” from Pennhurst Asylum in Spring City, Pennsylvania.

“Scoring the End of the World” tracklist:

1. Meltdown
2. Sign of Life
3. Werewolf
4. Porcelain
5. Slaughterhouse (featuring Bryan Garris of Knocked Loose)
6. Masterpiece
7. Cause of Death
8. We Become the Night
9. Burned at Both Ends 2
10. Broadcasting from Beyond the Grave: Corpse Nation
11. Cyberhex
12. Red, White & Boom (featuring Caleb Shomo of Beartooth)
13. Scoring the End of the World (featuring video game music composer Mick Gordon)