NEPA Scene Staff

The Wonder Years announce 5th album ‘No Closer to Heaven,’ release ‘Cardinals’ music video

The Wonder Years announce 5th album ‘No Closer to Heaven,’ release ‘Cardinals’ music video
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

From a press release:

Philadelphia pop punk band The Wonder Years just announced that their highly anticipated fifth studio album, “No Closer to Heaven,” which will be released Sept. 4 via Hopeless Records. A brand new song called “Cardinals” is now streaming online, along with a heartbreaking music video:

The 13-track album, recorded and produced by Steve Evetts and mixed by Phil Nicolo, is now available for pre-order with several bundle options at “Cardinals” will be offered as an instant grat track when pre-ordered digitally or physically.

The Wonder Years and Sub City will donate one dollar for each record pre-ordered through MerchNow. Upon checkout, fans will be prompted to select one of four charities, chosen by The Wonder Years, where the donation made through their purchase will be sent. Proceeds will help benefit The Herren Project, Puppies Behind Bars, After-School All-Stars, and Futures Without Violence.

The official album cover art and track listing are below:

“No Closer to Heaven” track list:

1. Brothers &
2. Cardinals
3. A Song for Patsy Cline
4. I Don’t Like Who I Was Then
5. Cigarettes & Saints
6. The Bluest Things on Earth
7. A Song for Ernest Hemingway
8. Thanks for the Ride
9. Stained Glass Ceilings (featuring Jason Aalon Butler)
10. I Wanted So Badly to Be Brave
11. You in January
12. Palm Reader
13. No Closer to Heaven

The Wonder Years are vocalist Dan “Soupy” Campbell, guitarists Matt Brasch, Casey Cavaliere and Nick Steinborn, bassist Josh Martin, and drummer Mike Kennedy. Coming together over 10 years ago, they have performed in 45 states and 25 countries. Their last album, “The Greatest Generation,” debuted in the Top 20 on the Billboard Top 200, and the band has been seen on the cover of Alternative Press magazine and featured on Fuse, MTV, Rolling Stone, LA Weekly, and Newsday.

The group has been nominated for best live band at the upcoming Alternative Press Music Awards, which will take place on July 22 in Cleveland, Ohio at the Quicken Loans Arena and air live on AXS TV. Fans can vote for them at

The Wonder Years are currently performing on the main stage of the entire 2015 Vans Warped Tour, which kicked off June 17 in Anchorage, Alaska. They’ll be at the PNC Bank Arts Center in Holmdel, New Jersey on July 19 and The Pavilion at Montage Mountain in Scranton on July 21, so local fans won’t have to travel far to catch them this summer.