Lit

 NEPA Scene Staff

Who is Jane Jacobs? The life story behind the citywide Observe Scranton festival on May 4-8

Who is Jane Jacobs? The life story behind the citywide Observe Scranton festival on May 4-8

From a press release: The inaugural Observe Scranton festival that is set for Tuesday, May 4 through Saturday, May 8 is a tribute to hometown hero Jane Jacobs, but who was this iconic city activist and how will her hometown celebrate what would have been her 105th birthday? She was born Jane Butzner on May […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Kulick remembers Tamaqua poet who overdosed with new recording of song ‘H’

Kulick remembers Tamaqua poet who overdosed with new recording of song ‘H’

From a press release: 23-year-old Alexandria Sienkiewicz wrote a poem about her struggles with heroin shortly before she accidentally overdosed on fentanyl on April 2, 2016. Kulick then turned her poem into a song he titled “H,” originally released on YouTube in 2017. Sienkiewicz was from Tamaqua, the same small town as Kulick, and like […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

New ‘Observe Scranton’ festival celebrates the city with live events, exhibits, and more May 4-8

New ‘Observe Scranton’ festival celebrates the city with live events, exhibits, and more May 4-8

From a press release: The Center for the Living City, in partnership with the Scranton Fringe Festival, is planning a nearly week-long community festival celebrating Scranton through the eyes of hometown hero Jane Jacobs, an iconic city activist, on what would have been her 105th birthday. Dubbed Observe Scranton, this new event on Tuesday, May […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

‘Second Nature’ virtual art exhibit combines writing and drawing at Penn College in Williamsport through April 9

‘Second Nature’ virtual art exhibit combines writing and drawing at Penn College in Williamsport through April 9

From a press release: An area graphic designer’s 100-day dedication to a drawing and writing practice has culminated in an exhibit at the Pennsylvania College of Technology in Williamsport. “Second Nature,” featuring works by Sarah Patterson, also offers inspiration on establishing a journaling routine. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, The Gallery at Penn College is […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

NEPA Penn State campuses host free virtual programs on entertainment, business, and more from Jan. 25-April 26

NEPA Penn State campuses host free virtual programs on entertainment, business, and more from Jan. 25-April 26

From a press release: Penn State University’s northeast region campuses will host a spring virtual program series featuring topics ranging from movie promotion and the entertainment industry to chocolate and family business, NASA, forensics, bingo, children’s books, current weather, and nature. These free programs are open to the public and will be held in the […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Pittston author shares love of dinosaurs in ‘Dig: A Personal Prehistoric Journey’ virtual event on Jan. 21

Pittston author shares love of dinosaurs in ‘Dig: A Personal Prehistoric Journey’ virtual event on Jan. 21

From a press release: A love for dinosaurs doesn’t have to end after childhood – it can turn into a lifelong adventure. Pittston author Sam Chiarelli, who has dug for fossils in Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and Colorado, wrote a memoir, “Dig: A Personal Prehistoric Journey,” that serves as an intersection of his love of dinosaurs […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Wilkes-Barre author Brandon McNulty unleashes debut supernatural thriller ‘Bad Parts’

Wilkes-Barre author Brandon McNulty unleashes debut supernatural thriller ‘Bad Parts’

From a press release: Fans of Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Richard Laymon, and Blake Crouch won’t want to miss the new gritty, fast-paced supernatural thriller by Wilkes-Barre author Brandon McNulty. “Bad Parts” was recently published in hardcover, paperback, and digital formats via Midnight Point Press, a book that Alma Katsu, author of “The Deep” and […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Queer NEPA hosts ‘Queer Night In’ live stream on June 27 for LGBTQ Pride Month

Queer NEPA hosts ‘Queer Night In’ live stream on June 27 for LGBTQ Pride Month

From a press release: Local LGBTQ+ activists Queer NEPA typically celebrate national LGBTQ Pride Month with a series of events across Northeastern Pennsylvania every June. The coronavirus pandemic has changed those plans this year, but not canceled them. On Saturday, June 27 at 7 p.m., Queer NEPA will host “Queer Night In: A Charity Livestream” […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

New book about ‘The Office’ tells ‘Untold Story of the Greatest Sitcom of the 2000s’

New book about ‘The Office’ tells ‘Untold Story of the Greatest Sitcom of the 2000s’

From a press release: When did you last hang out with Jim, Pam, Dwight, Michael, and the rest of the Scranton branch of Dunder Mifflin? It might have been back in 2013, when “The Office” finale aired… or it might have been last night, when you watched three episodes in a row. But either way, […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Misericordia University professors discuss race and superheroes in new book ‘All New, All Different?’

Misericordia University professors discuss race and superheroes in new book ‘All New, All Different?’

From a press release: Misericordia University professors Allan W. Austin, Ph.D., and Patrick L. Hamilton, Ph.D., will discuss their new book, “All New, All Different? A History of Race and the American Superhero,” during a Friends of the Mary Kintz Bevevino Library lecture and book signing on Tuesday, Feb. 18 from 5 p.m.-7 p.m. in […]

1 2 3 15