Lit

 NEPA Scene Staff

Brewsterhout Rooftop Party is back to benefit Osterhout Free Library in Wilkes-Barre on Oct. 8

Brewsterhout Rooftop Party is back to benefit Osterhout Free Library in Wilkes-Barre on Oct. 8

From a press release: After taking a year off due to the pandemic, the Osterhout Free Library’s 12th annual Brewsterhout Rooftop Party is set for Friday, Oct. 8 atop the James F. Conahan Intermodal Transportation Center in downtown Wilkes-Barre. Running from 5 p.m.-8 p.m., the 21+ event will be held rain or shine. The rooftop […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

‘Handmaid’s Tale’ author Margaret Atwood speaks at Wilkes University on April 26, 2022

‘Handmaid’s Tale’ author Margaret Atwood speaks at Wilkes University on April 26, 2022

From a press release: Margaret Atwood, the bestselling author of more than 50 novels, including “The Handmaid’s Tale,” will be the featured author of the Allan Hamilton Dickson Fund Spring Writers Series at Wilkes University next year. “A Conversation with Margaret Atwood,” hosted by the Wilkes English Department, will be held on Tuesday, April 26, […]

 Rich Howells

NEPA pride and creative groups host LGBTQ poetry contest with ‘Live Out Proud’ theme

NEPA pride and creative groups host LGBTQ poetry contest with ‘Live Out Proud’ theme

The NEPA Rainbow Alliance, NEPA Pride Project, and NEPA Creative have teamed up for a new poetry contest that is open to anyone in the LGBTQ+ community in Luzerne, Lackawanna, and Wyoming Counties. “The purpose of this contest is to bring creative expression to life within the Greater Wyoming Valley LGBTQ+ community. We’re looking for […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Who is Jane Jacobs? The life story behind the citywide Observe Scranton festival on May 4-8

Who is Jane Jacobs? The life story behind the citywide Observe Scranton festival on May 4-8

From a press release: The inaugural Observe Scranton festival that is set for Tuesday, May 4 through Saturday, May 8 is a tribute to hometown hero Jane Jacobs, but who was this iconic city activist and how will her hometown celebrate what would have been her 105th birthday? She was born Jane Butzner on May […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Kulick remembers Tamaqua poet who overdosed with new recording of song ‘H’

Kulick remembers Tamaqua poet who overdosed with new recording of song ‘H’

From a press release: 23-year-old Alexandria Sienkiewicz wrote a poem about her struggles with heroin shortly before she accidentally overdosed on fentanyl on April 2, 2016. Kulick then turned her poem into a song he titled “H,” originally released on YouTube in 2017. Sienkiewicz was from Tamaqua, the same small town as Kulick, and like […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

New ‘Observe Scranton’ festival celebrates the city with live events, exhibits, and more May 4-8

New ‘Observe Scranton’ festival celebrates the city with live events, exhibits, and more May 4-8

From a press release: The Center for the Living City, in partnership with the Scranton Fringe Festival, is planning a nearly week-long community festival celebrating Scranton through the eyes of hometown hero Jane Jacobs, an iconic city activist, on what would have been her 105th birthday. Dubbed Observe Scranton, this new event on Tuesday, May […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

‘Second Nature’ virtual art exhibit combines writing and drawing at Penn College in Williamsport through April 9

‘Second Nature’ virtual art exhibit combines writing and drawing at Penn College in Williamsport through April 9

From a press release: An area graphic designer’s 100-day dedication to a drawing and writing practice has culminated in an exhibit at the Pennsylvania College of Technology in Williamsport. “Second Nature,” featuring works by Sarah Patterson, also offers inspiration on establishing a journaling routine. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, The Gallery at Penn College is […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

NEPA Penn State campuses host free virtual programs on entertainment, business, and more from Jan. 25-April 26

NEPA Penn State campuses host free virtual programs on entertainment, business, and more from Jan. 25-April 26

From a press release: Penn State University’s northeast region campuses will host a spring virtual program series featuring topics ranging from movie promotion and the entertainment industry to chocolate and family business, NASA, forensics, bingo, children’s books, current weather, and nature. These free programs are open to the public and will be held in the […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Pittston author shares love of dinosaurs in ‘Dig: A Personal Prehistoric Journey’ virtual event on Jan. 21

Pittston author shares love of dinosaurs in ‘Dig: A Personal Prehistoric Journey’ virtual event on Jan. 21

From a press release: A love for dinosaurs doesn’t have to end after childhood – it can turn into a lifelong adventure. Pittston author Sam Chiarelli, who has dug for fossils in Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and Colorado, wrote a memoir, “Dig: A Personal Prehistoric Journey,” that serves as an intersection of his love of dinosaurs […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Wilkes-Barre author Brandon McNulty unleashes debut supernatural thriller ‘Bad Parts’

Wilkes-Barre author Brandon McNulty unleashes debut supernatural thriller ‘Bad Parts’

From a press release: Fans of Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Richard Laymon, and Blake Crouch won’t want to miss the new gritty, fast-paced supernatural thriller by Wilkes-Barre author Brandon McNulty. “Bad Parts” was recently published in hardcover, paperback, and digital formats via Midnight Point Press, a book that Alma Katsu, author of “The Deep” and […]

1 2 3 16