Lit

 NEPA Scene Staff

‘Second Nature’ virtual art exhibit combines writing and drawing at Penn College in Williamsport through April 9

‘Second Nature’ virtual art exhibit combines writing and drawing at Penn College in Williamsport through April 9

From a press release: An area graphic designer’s 100-day dedication to a drawing and writing practice has culminated in an exhibit at the Pennsylvania College of Technology in Williamsport. “Second Nature,” featuring works by Sarah Patterson, also offers inspiration on establishing a journaling routine. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, The Gallery at Penn College is […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Pittston author shares love of dinosaurs in ‘Dig: A Personal Prehistoric Journey’ virtual event on Jan. 21

Pittston author shares love of dinosaurs in ‘Dig: A Personal Prehistoric Journey’ virtual event on Jan. 21

From a press release: A love for dinosaurs doesn’t have to end after childhood – it can turn into a lifelong adventure. Pittston author Sam Chiarelli, who has dug for fossils in Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and Colorado, wrote a memoir, “Dig: A Personal Prehistoric Journey,” that serves as an intersection of his love of dinosaurs […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Wilkes-Barre author Brandon McNulty unleashes debut supernatural thriller ‘Bad Parts’

Wilkes-Barre author Brandon McNulty unleashes debut supernatural thriller ‘Bad Parts’

From a press release: Fans of Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Richard Laymon, and Blake Crouch won’t want to miss the new gritty, fast-paced supernatural thriller by Wilkes-Barre author Brandon McNulty. “Bad Parts” was recently published in hardcover, paperback, and digital formats via Midnight Point Press, a book that Alma Katsu, author of “The Deep” and […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Queer NEPA hosts ‘Queer Night In’ live stream on June 27 for LGBTQ Pride Month

Queer NEPA hosts ‘Queer Night In’ live stream on June 27 for LGBTQ Pride Month

From a press release: Local LGBTQ+ activists Queer NEPA typically celebrate national LGBTQ Pride Month with a series of events across Northeastern Pennsylvania every June. The coronavirus pandemic has changed those plans this year, but not canceled them. On Saturday, June 27 at 7 p.m., Queer NEPA will host “Queer Night In: A Charity Livestream” […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

New book about ‘The Office’ tells ‘Untold Story of the Greatest Sitcom of the 2000s’

New book about ‘The Office’ tells ‘Untold Story of the Greatest Sitcom of the 2000s’

From a press release: When did you last hang out with Jim, Pam, Dwight, Michael, and the rest of the Scranton branch of Dunder Mifflin? It might have been back in 2013, when “The Office” finale aired… or it might have been last night, when you watched three episodes in a row. But either way, […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Misericordia University professors discuss race and superheroes in new book ‘All New, All Different?’

Misericordia University professors discuss race and superheroes in new book ‘All New, All Different?’

From a press release: Misericordia University professors Allan W. Austin, Ph.D., and Patrick L. Hamilton, Ph.D., will discuss their new book, “All New, All Different? A History of Race and the American Superhero,” during a Friends of the Mary Kintz Bevevino Library lecture and book signing on Tuesday, Feb. 18 from 5 p.m.-7 p.m. in […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Bestselling humorist David Sedaris delivers free talk and book signing at Scranton Cultural Center on April 6

Bestselling humorist David Sedaris delivers free talk and book signing at Scranton Cultural Center on April 6

From a press release: The Lackawanna County Library System’s Matthew F. Flynn Library Lecture Series has announced that bestselling author and humorist David Sedaris is 2020’s American Masters Lecture speaker. Sedaris is the author of 11 collections of essays, many of which appeared first in The New Yorker. The titles of his books alone suggest […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Bestselling author Mitch Albom speaks and signs books at Theater at North in Scranton on Nov. 12

Bestselling author Mitch Albom speaks and signs books at Theater at North in Scranton on Nov. 12

From a press release: Hospice of the Sacred Heart will present an evening with bestselling author and sports journalist Mitch Albom at The Theater at North in Scranton. The speaking event and book signing will be held on Thursday, Nov. 12 at 7 p.m. Albom’s books have sold over 39 million copies and have been […]

 Rich Howells

VIDEO PREMIERE: Metal band Prosody and author Steve Corbett release the demon of ‘Blood Red Syrah’

For decades, Steve Corbett shook up newspapers and radio waves in Northeastern Pennsylvania with his strong political views and in-your-face reporting before transitioning into a less brutal and bloody profession last year – horror/thriller novelist. “Blood Red Syrah” was released in September of 2018, and while Corbett is just as opinionated and rabble-rousing as ever, […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Author Amye Archer talks about school shooting survivors at Marywood University in Scranton on Dec. 9

Author Amye Archer talks about school shooting survivors at Marywood University in Scranton on Dec. 9

From a press release: Marywood University’s Department of Communication, Language, and Literature will host the next entry in its “An Evening with Authors” series with Amye Archer, co-editor of the book “If I Don’t Make It, I Love You: Survivors in the Aftermath of School Shootings.” The free event will take place on Monday, Dec. […]

1 2 3 15