NEPA Scene Staff

EXCLUSIVE: Strength for a Reason to receive Lifetime Achievement at Steamtown Music Awards; 33 ECMC performers announced

EXCLUSIVE: Strength for a Reason to receive Lifetime Achievement at Steamtown Music Awards; 33 ECMC performers announced
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

From a press release:

The Steamtown Music Awards and the Electric City Music Conference have announced that the 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Nanticoke hardcore band Strength for a Reason.

Over the last 20 years, Strength for a Reason has become a cornerstone of the Northeastern Pennsylvania music scene while achieving national and international notoriety. The band has toured with hardcore legends such as Hatebreed, Agnotic Front, Dying Fetus, Breakdown, Biohazard, Earth Crisis, Sick of It All, Rykers, Warzone, and Madball.

The Steamtown Music Awards will be held on Thursday, Sept. 14 for the fourth year at the “new and improved” V-Spot (906 Providence Rd., Scranton), which is currently undergoing renovations and expanding its footprint. As was the case last year, The V-Spot will be non-smoking for the night of the event.

The event will kick off at 6 p.m. with a red carpet entrance that will feature photographs by local music publications and video interviews with nominees. The first awards will be presented around 7:15 p.m. A list of performers and local celebrity presenters for the evening will be released soon.

Applications are still open for the Steamtown Music Awards. Fans can nominate their favorites in 35 categories here.

The Electric City Music Conference also announced a slew of performers today. Joining the 2017 lineup will be Blind Choice; Black Tie Stereo; The Greater Victory; The Charming Beards; WeThePeople; Erich & Tyler Music Company; Empire in Decline; Unveiling the Oppression; Shannon Marsyada; Bright Shiny Objects; Jump the Train; Dreamers, Like Us; Rich Janov; Rosary Guild; TakenBack; Pave the Way; Kluster Phunk; Plaid the Inhaler; The Cryptid; Send Request; 3IB (Three Imaginary Boys); Jordan Ramirez; Bradley Phillip Parks; Walau-Eh; Ember√°; The Backyard Ponies; Rob Palmitessa; K-one presents: Animal Collective; Riffmatik; Sonny on the Causeway; Riley Loftus; The Barn Cats; and Threatpoint.

See NEPA Scene’s SMAs photos and the list of 2016 winners here. See our photos from the entire 2016 conference here and stream or download last year’s ECMC panel discussions as free podcasts here.

  • Brandon Cause

    SFAR! One of the best bands ever. And nice dudes!