Rich Howells

PHOTOS: 2019 Steamtown Music Awards ceremony in Scranton (with winners list), 09/12/19

PHOTOS: 2019 Steamtown Music Awards ceremony in Scranton (with winners list), 09/12/19
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

The three-day Electric City Music Conference began its sixth annual weekend with the Steamtown Music Awards on Thursday, Sept. 12, matching last year’s massive turnout with even more local musicians and industry professionals packing into The V-Spot in Scranton and filling the front parking lot with support and love for the exceptional music scene of Northeastern Pennsylvania.

With over two hours of red carpet interviews by NEPA Scene that streamed live on Facebook, video by Ionic Development, and music by DJ Hersh spinning all night, the SMAs featured local celebrity presenters giving out awards in 37 different categories and a variety of live performances, including short sets by The Frost, Phriend$, Gabby Borges, Threatpoint, Jordan Ramirez & The Tribe, Black Hole Heart, Alma Mater, Send Request, The Maguas, and The Boastfuls featuring special guest Tatiana.

The 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Carbondale drummer Carl Canedy, known for his decades of music with the legendary metal band The Rods (touring with the likes of Metallica, Judas Priest, Iron Maiden, Ozzy Osbourne, and Motorhead) in addition to producing classic albums by Anthrax, Overkill, Exciter, Possessed, and Attila. He still performs in local groups like the Jeffrey James Band and recently formed his own band for a solo project.

Live stream videos of Alma Mater, The Maguas, and The Boastfuls with Tatiana follow the photos by Keith Perks of 1120 Studios below.

2019 Steamtown Music Awards winners

Best New Artist: The Maguas

People’s Choice Award: Flaxy Morgan

Acoustic/Solo Artist of the Year: James Barrett

Duo of the Year: The Husty Brothers

Blues Act of the Year: Phyllis Hopkins Electric Trio

Country Act of the Year: Mike Elward

DJ/Electronic Act of the Year of the Year: JBØNAX

Folk/Americana Act of the Year: Gabby Borges

Hip-Hop Act of the Year: Gus the Savage

Indie Rock Act of the Year: Esta Coda

Jam/Funk Act of the Year: Jordan Ramirez & The Tribe

Jazz Act of the Year: Gary Rixner Trio

Metal Act of the Year: Threatpoint

Pop/Top 40 Act of the Year: The Frost

Punk/Hardcore Act of the Year: Ripped Away

Rock/Alternative Act of the Year: Sympotico

Tribute/Cover Act of the Year: A Proud Monkey

Male Vocalist of the Year: Tyler Zeiss

Female Vocalist of the Year: Ellie Rosentel

Guitarist of the Year: Neil Nicastro

Bassist of the Year: Rob Santoro

Drummer of the Year: Stephen Martin

Auxiliary Musician of the Year: Derek Nowak – piano

Video of the Year: Send Request – “Dr. Dare Rides Again”

Album of the Year: University Drive – “Clear”

Song of the Year: Joe Lombardo – “Random Circumstance”

Recording Studio of the Year: SI Studios

Producer/Recording Engineer of the Year: Eric Novroski

Music Publication/Blog of the Year: NEPA Scene

Music Journalist of the Year: Rich Howells

Photographer of the Year: Keith Perks

Videographer of the Year: Jon Edwards

Radio Station/Podcast of the Year: Alt 92.1

Radio/Podcast Personality of the Year: Johnny Popko – Alt-Natives on Alt 92.1

Live Performer of the Year: Traverse the Abyss

Sound Engineer of the Year: Matt Kester

Lifetime Achievement Award: Carl Canedy

Alma Mater performance:

Send Request performance:

The Maguas performance:

The Boastfuls with Tatiana performance: