NEPA Scene Staff

Wilkes-Barre author Brandon McNulty unleashes debut supernatural thriller ‘Bad Parts’

Wilkes-Barre author Brandon McNulty unleashes debut supernatural thriller ‘Bad Parts’

From a press release: Fans of Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Richard Laymon, and Blake Crouch won’t want to miss the new gritty, fast-paced supernatural thriller by Wilkes-Barre author Brandon McNulty. “Bad Parts” was recently published in hardcover, paperback, and digital formats via Midnight Point Press, a book that Alma Katsu, author of “The Deep” and […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

New book about ‘The Office’ tells ‘Untold Story of the Greatest Sitcom of the 2000s’

New book about ‘The Office’ tells ‘Untold Story of the Greatest Sitcom of the 2000s’

From a press release: When did you last hang out with Jim, Pam, Dwight, Michael, and the rest of the Scranton branch of Dunder Mifflin? It might have been back in 2013, when “The Office” finale aired… or it might have been last night, when you watched three episodes in a row. But either way, […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Misericordia University professors discuss race and superheroes in new book ‘All New, All Different?’

Misericordia University professors discuss race and superheroes in new book ‘All New, All Different?’

From a press release: Misericordia University professors Allan W. Austin, Ph.D., and Patrick L. Hamilton, Ph.D., will discuss their new book, “All New, All Different? A History of Race and the American Superhero,” during a Friends of the Mary Kintz Bevevino Library lecture and book signing on Tuesday, Feb. 18 from 5 p.m.-7 p.m. in […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Bestselling author Mitch Albom speaks and signs books at Theater at North in Scranton on Nov. 12

Bestselling author Mitch Albom speaks and signs books at Theater at North in Scranton on Nov. 12

From a press release: Hospice of the Sacred Heart will present an evening with bestselling author and sports journalist Mitch Albom at The Theater at North in Scranton. The speaking event and book signing will be held on Thursday, Nov. 12 at 7 p.m. Albom’s books have sold over 39 million copies and have been […]

 Rich Howells

VIDEO PREMIERE: Metal band Prosody and author Steve Corbett release the demon of ‘Blood Red Syrah’

For decades, Steve Corbett shook up newspapers and radio waves in Northeastern Pennsylvania with his strong political views and in-your-face reporting before transitioning into a less brutal and bloody profession last year – horror/thriller novelist. “Blood Red Syrah” was released in September of 2018, and while Corbett is just as opinionated and rabble-rousing as ever, […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Marywood University holds fall book swap and sale in Scranton Nov. 18-22

Marywood University holds fall book swap and sale in Scranton Nov. 18-22

From a press release: Marywood University will hold its fall book swap and sale from Monday, Nov. 18 at noon through Friday, Nov. 22 at 1 p.m. in the Learning Commons Lobby on the university’s campus in Scranton. This event is free and open to the public. Proceeds from Tuesday’s sale will benefit the English […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Aquila Theatre presents George Orwell’s ‘1984’ live at Kirby Center in Wilkes-Barre on Oct. 10

Aquila Theatre presents George Orwell’s ‘1984’ live at Kirby Center in Wilkes-Barre on Oct. 10

From a press release: In the throes of unprecedented challenges to privacy, truth, and personal expression, the Aquila Theatre Company brings George Orwell’s cautionary novel “1984” to the stage of the F.M. Kirby Center in Wilkes-Barre on Thursday, Oct. 10 at 7 p.m. Tickets are on sale now and available at the Sundance Vacations Box […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Blogger, author, and recovering addict Tiffany Jenkins speaks at Kirby Center in Wilkes-Barre on June 19

Blogger, author, and recovering addict Tiffany Jenkins speaks at Kirby Center in Wilkes-Barre on June 19

From a press release: Tiffany Jenkins is a wife, mother, author, content creator, and recovering addict. Best known for her blog, Juggling the Jenkins, and hilarious viral Facebook videos, Jenkins speaks shamelessly, openly, and honestly about her past and addiction, as well as her struggles with depression and anxiety. She will appear live at the […]

 Rich Howells

Get insight into Scorsese’s ‘The Irishman’ with ‘I Heard You Paint Houses’ author in Scranton on March 23

Get insight into Scorsese’s ‘The Irishman’ with ‘I Heard You Paint Houses’ author in Scranton on March 23

In a press conference held at The Ritz Theater in downtown Scranton two weeks ago, the Northeast Pennsylvania Film Festival announced its 2019 film selections and planned programming in venues throughout downtown Scranton and Waverly on Friday, March 22 through Sunday, March 24. One of the events that stuck out immediately was the appearance of […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

New book ‘Well-Behaved Taverns Seldom Make History’ tours Pennsylvania pubs with rebellious histories

New book ‘Well-Behaved Taverns Seldom Make History’ tours Pennsylvania pubs with rebellious histories

From a press release: The insurrectionist past of the Wooden Keg Tavern in St. Clair is one of many exciting stories that comes to life in “Well-Behaved Taverns Seldom Make History: Pennsylvania Pubs Where Rabble-Rousers and Rum Runners Stirred up Revolutions,” a new book from Sunbury Press in Mechanicsburg. Author M. Diane McCormick takes a […]

1 2 3