NEPA Scene Staff

Who is Jane Jacobs? The life story behind the citywide Observe Scranton festival on May 4-8

Who is Jane Jacobs? The life story behind the citywide Observe Scranton festival on May 4-8

From a press release: The inaugural Observe Scranton festival that is set for Tuesday, May 4 through Saturday, May 8 is a tribute to hometown hero Jane Jacobs, but who was this iconic city activist and how will her hometown celebrate what would have been her 105th birthday? She was born Jane Butzner on May […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

New ‘Observe Scranton’ festival celebrates the city with live events, exhibits, and more May 4-8

New ‘Observe Scranton’ festival celebrates the city with live events, exhibits, and more May 4-8

From a press release: The Center for the Living City, in partnership with the Scranton Fringe Festival, is planning a nearly week-long community festival celebrating Scranton through the eyes of hometown hero Jane Jacobs, an iconic city activist, on what would have been her 105th birthday. Dubbed Observe Scranton, this new event on Tuesday, May […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Pittston author shares love of dinosaurs in ‘Dig: A Personal Prehistoric Journey’ virtual event on Jan. 21

Pittston author shares love of dinosaurs in ‘Dig: A Personal Prehistoric Journey’ virtual event on Jan. 21

From a press release: A love for dinosaurs doesn’t have to end after childhood – it can turn into a lifelong adventure. Pittston author Sam Chiarelli, who has dug for fossils in Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and Colorado, wrote a memoir, “Dig: A Personal Prehistoric Journey,” that serves as an intersection of his love of dinosaurs […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Kelly Rippon, mother of Clarks Summit Olympian Adam Rippon, writes parenting book, ‘Parent Up’

Kelly Rippon, mother of Clarks Summit Olympian Adam Rippon, writes parenting book, ‘Parent Up’

From a press release: “How do you raise a champion?” After her oldest son Adam Rippon won the bronze medal for figure skating in the 2018 Winter Olympics, single mom Kelly Rippon found herself being asked this question all the time. The Clarks Summit native has six children – what did she do to inspire […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Wilkes-Barre author Brandon McNulty unleashes debut supernatural thriller ‘Bad Parts’

Wilkes-Barre author Brandon McNulty unleashes debut supernatural thriller ‘Bad Parts’

From a press release: Fans of Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Richard Laymon, and Blake Crouch won’t want to miss the new gritty, fast-paced supernatural thriller by Wilkes-Barre author Brandon McNulty. “Bad Parts” was recently published in hardcover, paperback, and digital formats via Midnight Point Press, a book that Alma Katsu, author of “The Deep” and […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

New book about ‘The Office’ tells ‘Untold Story of the Greatest Sitcom of the 2000s’

New book about ‘The Office’ tells ‘Untold Story of the Greatest Sitcom of the 2000s’

From a press release: When did you last hang out with Jim, Pam, Dwight, Michael, and the rest of the Scranton branch of Dunder Mifflin? It might have been back in 2013, when “The Office” finale aired… or it might have been last night, when you watched three episodes in a row. But either way, […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Misericordia University professors discuss race and superheroes in new book ‘All New, All Different?’

Misericordia University professors discuss race and superheroes in new book ‘All New, All Different?’

From a press release: Misericordia University professors Allan W. Austin, Ph.D., and Patrick L. Hamilton, Ph.D., will discuss their new book, “All New, All Different? A History of Race and the American Superhero,” during a Friends of the Mary Kintz Bevevino Library lecture and book signing on Tuesday, Feb. 18 from 5 p.m.-7 p.m. in […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Bestselling author Mitch Albom speaks and signs books at Theater at North in Scranton on Nov. 12

Bestselling author Mitch Albom speaks and signs books at Theater at North in Scranton on Nov. 12

From a press release: Hospice of the Sacred Heart will present an evening with bestselling author and sports journalist Mitch Albom at The Theater at North in Scranton. The speaking event and book signing will be held on Thursday, Nov. 12 at 7 p.m. Albom’s books have sold over 39 million copies and have been […]

 Rich Howells

VIDEO PREMIERE: Metal band Prosody and author Steve Corbett release the demon of ‘Blood Red Syrah’

For decades, Steve Corbett shook up newspapers and radio waves in Northeastern Pennsylvania with his strong political views and in-your-face reporting before transitioning into a less brutal and bloody profession last year – horror/thriller novelist. “Blood Red Syrah” was released in September of 2018, and while Corbett is just as opinionated and rabble-rousing as ever, […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Marywood University holds fall book swap and sale in Scranton Nov. 18-22

Marywood University holds fall book swap and sale in Scranton Nov. 18-22

From a press release: Marywood University will hold its fall book swap and sale from Monday, Nov. 18 at noon through Friday, Nov. 22 at 1 p.m. in the Learning Commons Lobby on the university’s campus in Scranton. This event is free and open to the public. Proceeds from Tuesday’s sale will benefit the English […]

1 2 3 4