NEPA Scene Staff

Yardbirds, Janis Joplin’s band, and more ’60s artists perform at Kirby Center in Wilkes-Barre on Sept. 18

Yardbirds, Janis Joplin’s band, and more ’60s artists perform at Kirby Center in Wilkes-Barre on Sept. 18

From a press release: Edd Raineri, host of “The Beatledd Fab Four Hour” on 88.5 WRKC, will present a night of ’60s music by The Yardbirds, Big Brother & The Holding Company (Janis Joplin’s original band), and Peter Asher & Jeremy Clyde at the F.M. Kirby Center in Wilkes-Barre on Saturday, Sept. 18. Doors at […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

NEPA virtual programs and broadcasts observe Anthracite Mining Heritage Month throughout January

NEPA virtual programs and broadcasts observe Anthracite Mining Heritage Month throughout January

From a press release: The Lackawanna Historical Society in Scranton will once again join regional partners in observing Anthracite Mining Heritage Month throughout January. This annual event focuses on the history and culture of Northeastern Pennsylvania’s coal region. Because of health concerns this year, all events will be conducted online via Zoom. The society will […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Wilkes-Barre author Brandon McNulty unleashes debut supernatural thriller ‘Bad Parts’

Wilkes-Barre author Brandon McNulty unleashes debut supernatural thriller ‘Bad Parts’

From a press release: Fans of Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Richard Laymon, and Blake Crouch won’t want to miss the new gritty, fast-paced supernatural thriller by Wilkes-Barre author Brandon McNulty. “Bad Parts” was recently published in hardcover, paperback, and digital formats via Midnight Point Press, a book that Alma Katsu, author of “The Deep” and […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

Musical ‘Next to Normal’ addresses depression and mental illness at King’s College in Wilkes-Barre July 26-Aug. 4

Musical ‘Next to Normal’ addresses depression and mental illness at King’s College in Wilkes-Barre July 26-Aug. 4

From a press release: The Misfit Players and the Gaslight Theatre Company will co-produce the Pulitzer Prize and Tony Award-winning rock musical “Next to Normal” at the George P. Maffei II Theatre at King’s College in Wilkes-Barre from Friday, July 26 through Sunday, Aug. 4. “Next to Normal” tells the story of Diana Goodman, a […]

 Mark Uricheck

Talking bands, business, venues, and life on the road with the merch guy

Talking bands, business, venues, and life on the road with the merch guy

Full disclosure, Bob Russamano and I go back a ways. I first met Bob in 1994, when we were both incoming freshmen at King’s College. The Lehigh Valley native/current Philadelphia resident and I shared a deep love of music – something we’re still both pursuing today. As a couple of Mass Communications majors, we had […]

 Sara Pokorny

‘Moon Over Buffalo’ is a farce that’s just as fun to perform as it is to watch in Wilkes-Barre

‘Moon Over Buffalo’ is a farce that’s just as fun to perform as it is to watch in Wilkes-Barre

The hilarious play runs tonight through the weekend at King’s College

What can go wrong, will go on – and in “Moon Over Buffalo,” it most certainly does. The latest production from King’s College, set to hit the stage Feb. 20-23, tells the story of George and Charlotte Hay, actors who are past their career prime. They are still partaking in shows, and just when things […]

 Keith Perks

PHOTOS: Christmas Parade in Wilkes-Barre, 11/22/14

PHOTOS: Christmas Parade in Wilkes-Barre, 11/22/14

Soon after Scranton’s Santa Parade ended on Saturday, Nov. 22, Wilkes-Barre’s annual Christmas Parade began at 3 p.m., culminating in a tree lighting ceremony on Public Square. Scenes from “The Nutcracker” were performed by the Dance Theatre of Wilkes-Barre and the YOUniversal Suzuki Strings played at the F.M. Kirby Center beforehand, and groups like the […]

 NEPA Scene Staff

King’s Theatre to open season with The Who’s rock opera ‘Tommy’

King’s Theatre to open season with The Who’s rock opera ‘Tommy’

From a press release: The King’s College Theatre Department will open the season with performances of the ‘60s rock opera “Tommy,” The Who’s electrifying tale of a catatonic adolescent’s journey into a pinball wizard. Performances will be held at 7:30 p.m. Oct. 1-4 and Oct. 6 and at 2 p.m. on Oct. 4-5 in the […]